top of page

Meet Dillon Kin


Dillon Kin is originally from Johannesburg and now lives in Cape Town. Dillon is an amazing wedding and portrait photographer who captures moments so beautifully.

Read more about why Dillon is proud to be Chinese and proud to be South African.


 

Name: Dillon Kin

Occupation: Photographer

1. Where were you born?

  • Johannesburg.

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I grew up in the south of Johannesburg and attended Glenvista High School. I went to CTI for my tertiary education with a specialization in Information Systems. I studied Art in school which gave me a good background for my photography work that I do now.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • Going to Bao Pow (a Chinese dumpling and fried chicken take away spot) in old China Town to get Sunday snacks. Also yum cha!

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • I can’t pick one, I do love a Chinese hot pot though! It’s so great when everyone gathers around a pot of soup and we share food.

5. Where do you live?

  • In beautiful Cape Town! I love it so much here. It’s a dream to live here as a photographer.

6. What work do you do?

  • I am a wedding and portrait photographer.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I love that I get to meet so many different people and capture their special moments.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • Completing the Argus Cycle Tour twice on a single speed bicycle.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • South African is such a beautiful country with beautiful people from all different walks of life. I love that South Africans are always proud to be South African. I love the people. Also the fact that I can braai like a champ!

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I love being South African but also being Chinese, because of my heritage. I love the culture and I love the food. The Chinese culture is so rich and interesting.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Chinese New Year and lion dancing! I did Kung Fu for many years and used to perform the lion dance every year in Cyrildene and old China Town when I was still living in Johannesburg.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Embrace your heritage, it’s what makes you special.

Want to contact Dillon?


Visit:


Contact:


Follow:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page