top of page

Chinese student learns Afrikaans to matriculate and English to graduate


Photo credit: Courtesy of 'Volksblad' newspaper (Thursday, 7th January 2016) p. 4/14


At the age of 14, Pinquan Chen decided to emigrate on his own from Hong Kong to South Africa during 2010 and stay with his uncle and aunt in Bloemfontein. His parents still reside in Hong Kong, where he grew up and visits annually.


South Africa is a good multi-cultural place. It gives me the opportunity to make more friends. My parents support my decision, but were worried that I could not handle the big change. However, I’m happy I easily adapted. I miss them and also China very much, but it is very 'lekker' here in South Africa.”


Article credit: Courtesy of 'Volksblad' newspaper (Friday, 4th September 2015) p. 1/16


In 2011, Pinquan began his South African high school education as a grade 8 learner at Hoërskool Fichardtpark in Bloemfontein.


I could speak a little English and only say ‘dankie’ in Afrikaans, but my teachers were very helpful. They translated most of the work in English for me and it helped. Mr Werner Pretorius helped me the most with my Afrikaans. And if it wasn’t for principal Mr Micheal Barker, I wouldn’t have had the opportunity.”


Mr Pretorius, also a history teacher, attributes Pinquan’s hard work as the reason he mastered Afrikaans within five years. He adds “People said he must attend Grey College or Saint Andrews, but he insisted on Fichardtpark, an Afrikaans single medium school. We could see he gives his best everyday.


The "Afrikaans Chinees" still struggles to pronounce some Afrikaans words and chooses to speak English. However, when he writes in Afrikaans, nothing stops him.


I read, learn and write in Afrikaans. It is a bit difficult to speak fluently.”


When asked what is his favourite Afrikaans word, he quickly answers “Pikkewyn. Because my name sounds similar, the other learners call me that. I love it a lot.”


Video credit: Courtesy of 'YouTube / Netwerk24 Video' (Thursday, 3rd September 2015)


In 2015, 19-year-old Pinquan passed all his Grade 12 subjects, all written in Afrikaans. He obtained 47% in Afrikaans (First home language) in his final matric examinations and achieved a distinction in Engineering graphics and design.


Principal Barker said “He had challenges that ordinary learners don’t have. Until he mastered the Afrikaans language, his academic achievements also improved. He adapted a lot at the school, participated in the activities and supported it. He obtained a E-symbol in Afrikaans (First home language), which is good, and he wrote all his subjects in Afrikaans.


The "Boere Chinees" personally thanked the school, his teachers, the culture and Fichardtpark family during his speech delivered in Afrikaans on his last school day.


His parents did not visit him during his first five years in South Africa.


It is a dream of mine that they also move here one day. I’m happy they are visiting me early next year. I can’t wait.


Article credit: Courtesy of 'Beeld' newspaper (Friday, 4th September 2015) p. 1/22


Pinquan applied at Stellenbosch University to pursue business studies in 2016.


I’m looking forward to it. I think business is the right direction for me.”


However, learning in English for his BCom (Business management) degree required another adjustment.


“It was a big challenge after I first attended an Afrikaans school.It was hard work to qualify for selection. I enjoy studying and always push myself to do better.


Article credit: Courtesy of 'Volksblad' newspaper (Friday, 13 December 2019) p. 3/20


After graduating in 2019, Pinquan elected to study further towards his BComHons degree in logistics management during 2020.


He enjoys Maties, loves the environment and the town's atmosphere.


Photo credit: Courtesy of 'Facebook / Hoërskool Fichardtpark' (Friday, 13th December 2020)


People are always surprised to hear a Chinese person speaking Afrikaans, but Pinquan says there are other Asians in Stellenbosch just like him.


He visits Bloemfontein every year and plans to study a few other South African languages in future.


Photo credit: Courtesy of 'Facebook / Denver Rispel Photography' (Sunday, 6th January 2019)


Follow Pinquan's social media:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page