top of page

Artist Series: Meet Calvin Lok

Calvin Lok is a Johannesburg-born Architectural Masters student currently in Australia. He sees himself as an 'experimentalist' and creates portraits with the hope of evoking a story.

Calvin will be one of the artists featured in the ORIENTation: The diaspora of East Asian identities in South Africa exhibition taking place in Johannesburg later this year.

Read more about why Calvin, when and why he became an artist and what inspires him.

"My advice to young aspiring artists would be to always keep exploring and experimenting. Stay true to who you are and always draw inspiration from elements that embody or evoke a story." ~ Calvin Lok

Name: Calvin Lok

Occupation: Master of Architecture Student

Where were you born? Where do you live now?

I was born in Johannesburg, South Africa on the 20th of December 1995. I am currently studying my final year of master’s in architecture, in Perth, Western Australia.

When did you become an artist? What is your speciality?

According to my parents, I have always been drawing since a young age. My ability as an “artist” was realized during primary school when I drew the face of my best friend. I cannot remember what class it was in, but all I remember is the principal of my school called my parents to tell them to place me in an arts’ school. Since that day I have never looked back, and I guess that my speciality has always been portraits from the beginning.

What art training/studying did you have or were you self-taught?

I never received any formal training because my parents did not put me into an arts’ school and never really listened to the principal, I guess. My mom did end up placing my younger brother and myself into a weekly art class program, which did not offer any formal training, but the classes became a place to draw/ paint with other young aspiring artists.

Why did you become an artist?

I do not really consider myself an artist, but I like to describe myself as an ‘experimentalist’. The process of experimenting always gives way to both failure and success within any embodiment of work, but there is something beautiful about art and it's ability to whole- fully connect; and draw inspiration across various subjects of matter. Similarly, I become whole whenever I immerse myself in any form of art and that is why I became an “artist”.

What inspires you as an artist? Are there any artists that you admire?

The ability to evoke a story/ represent a story that is unique to your own style as an artist, is something that really inspires and pushes me in the field. There are a few South African artists that I feel have a unique ability to tell or evoke a story, through their portrait works: Lionel Smit and Nelson Makamo are my two idols within the industry of art.

Please tell us about your art, for the upcoming exhibition? What do you hope to achieve through your artwork?

Works from the, ‘Faces of Colour & Design’ is a collection that touches on part of myself as a whole. This part is racially tied to my roots as the life experiences of Chinese culture. The ‘Faces of Colour & Design’ can be seen as a lens for exploring the life of the first generation of Chinese culture, that set foot in South Africa. This lens is showcased as a set of faces from family members in a colourful and quirky nature.

I really hope that my works are able to evoke or tell a story, and I would love these works to ultimately create any emotion amongst the public.

Why do you think that this exhibition is so important?

I think that this exhibition is important because art creates a sense of community and it is really important to show love and support throughout this difficult period in time.​

What advice would you give to young aspiring artists in South Africa?

My advice to young aspiring artists would be to always keep exploring and experimenting. Stay true to who you are and always draw inspiration from elements that embody or evoke a story.

Want to contact Calvin?

Instagram: Sloppy_Tofu_

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page