top of page

Meet Henry Tong

Henry Tong is an image content editor from Johannesburg and is also a part-time photographer and designer.

Read more about why Henry is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"Never give up on your hopes and dreams, when times are tough persevere and you will see the rewards." ~ Henry Tong

 

Name: Henry Hamza Tong

Occupation: Image content editor, photographer and designer

1. Where were you born?

  • Johannesburg.

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • Sir John Adamson High School; and

  • Wits University.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • The fun run / walks we used to have in Bez Valley where we could just go wild and enjoy the fresh air and being outdoors.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • Soy Sauce Chicken.

5. Where do you live?

  • Southdale, Johannesburg.

6. What work do you do?

  • Full time – Content editor at Greatstock; and

  • Side work – Photographer and designer.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • Full time – The people and editing submitted images from suppliers.

  • Side work – The people is always the most important part about my job, interacting with different people from different walks of life and getting to know them through what I have been hired to do for them. At the end of the whole experience I want them to say they had a blast and if they can’t say that I didn’t do my job right.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • I have 3 – being married to the most amazing woman my wife Tasleem and my two boys that we have together.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I’m proud to be South African as I feel that we have the most diverse cultures compared to any other country in the world.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I’m proud not for myself but for the Chinese people as a whole from where we were (in terms of society) where we have now stood up for ourselves and shown everyone that we are no push overs anymore.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Qingming or Ching Ming festival.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Never give up on your hopes and dreams, when times are tough persevere and you will see the rewards.

Want to contact Henry?

Check out my photography website (https://raiken20.wixsite.com/capturingmoments) or you can contact me via:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page