top of page

Meet Samantha Jack


Samantha Jack is from Johannesburg and is a epidemiologist, biostatistician and small startup business owner currently pursuing her masters part-time through WITS University.

Read more about why Samantha is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"Surround yourself with not only Chinese friends, but also friends of every other race and colour. The diversity of your friend group will bring marvelous blessings to your life in unexpected ways. Take advantage of South Africa’s perks and celebrate your heritage – take every opportunity to educate those around you about what it is to be Chinese. Don’t let our culture be invisible ~ Samantha Jack

 

Name: Samantha Louise Jack / Hou Sokying

Occupation: Epidemiologist and Biostatistican

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born in Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa.

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I went to Marian College Linmeyer for my primary and high schooling, then I attended the University of the Witwatersrand for my undergrad and postgrad schooling.​

  • I have a BSc in Biochemistry, Experimental Physiology and Psychology, a BHSc Honours in Forensic Sciences (Toxicology and Psychology) and I am studying my MSc in Epidemiology and Biostatistics part-time all through WITS.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • Going to Chinese New Year celebrations every year so I could drink bubble tea! These days bubble tea shops are everywhere, but back in the day the only time of the year I could drink my favourite drink was at Chinese New Year. There would always be an uncle or aunt selling the stuff. It would be the original flavour. I loved it!

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • Good old ke chuk that my mom makes for me whenever I am sick. It is wholesome rice and chicken soup. Yum!

5. Where do you live?

  • I am still in Joburg!

6. What work do you do?

  • I work as a medical scientist – I am an epidemiologist and biostatistician working for the National Institute for Occupational Health. I do research on the country’s health data and look at trends and causes of occupational diseases in South African workplaces. My research covers anything from occupational tuberculosis in miners, to stress related depression and burnout in office workers.

  • I also run a small startup business importing and distributing cricket powder. It started as an urban farm, but due to financial and resource constraints my business pivoted.

Speaker profile for the In Good Company Conference in Pretoria on 21st August 2018.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I am a passionate scientist and humanitarian. I love researching and raising public awareness about issues that affect our health. If you think about it – we spend one third of our entire lives at work. We spend 1/3 sleeping, 1/3 at work and the last 1/3 doing everything else – family, social life, etc. So if we spend 1/3 of our life at work (8+ hours everyday for 40 or so years!) why isn't our occupational health more important? The environments that we work in should be one of the most important aspects of our daily health. My work contributes to this very important aspect of public health.

  • A few years ago the United Nations Food and Agriculture authority released a seminal report on the future of food security and entomophagy in the face of climate change. They investigated how millions of people across the globe participate in entomophagy – the consumption of bugs. Termites, mopane worms, scorpions, crickets, you name it! The report found that bugs are a high source of protein and nutrients; and that they are extremely low-impact on the environment to farm. Low carbon emissions, low water consumption, they require very little space; and many of them are nutrient recyclers transforming organic byproducts back into protein. Entomophagy was proposed a potential key to food security. I wanted to bring this phenomena to South Africa in a marketable and edible way. Cricket powder is a ‘soft’ entry into entomophagy – as it is a very palatable and non-offensive format for first time eaters. It looks like a brown flour and can be added to milkshakes and other foods for a quick nutrient “boost”. I want South Africans to be more eco-conscious with our food choices. I believe that the health of our environment is tied to our health as human beings. We can’t thrive if our planet is dying.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • Whilst I have many academic achievements and sporting achievements, I think for me it was my university community work and my entrepreneurial work that I am most proud of. At University I was an active participant in student governance issues. Right from first year and even still to this day. I have always been representing students and fighting for their rights on campus. As an entrepreneur who was not traditionally trained in business - a few university friends and I entered a green-city startup competition with an idea that got us into the final 8.​

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • There is no country like South Africa. I am engaged to be married to the love of my life – who is Swiss Dutch. My best friend is a gay coloured man who speaks better English than most people I know. My bridesmaids are Indian, Polish, Afrikaans and Xhosa. I have the most diverse and wonderful group of friends. They are my second family and I would not have been able to meet them and create these connections in any other country. This country, despite its problems, allows us to experience a breadth and depth of diversity like no other in history or on the globe!​

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • Chinese people are a proud people of strength, intelligence, and a hard-working attitude that grants us respect across the world no matter our industry – from the arts to finances we are respected by the West and everyone alike.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Chinese New Year is a time for traveling home to visit family. Just like in China, that time is a sacred time to honour our families, say goodbye to the old year and wish in the fortunes of the new year.

  • Easter Tournament! It is the best time to meet Chinese people from all over South Africa!

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Surround yourself with not only Chinese friends, but also friends of every other race and colour. The diversity of your friend group will bring marvelous blessings to your life in unexpected ways. Take advantage of South Africa’s perks and celebrate your heritage – take every opportunity to educate those around you about what it is to be Chinese. Don’t let our culture be invisible!

13. Is there anything else that you would like to share?

  • Don’t give up hope on South Africa! Together we are strong!

  • My fiance and I participated in a win-a-wedding competition and we are finalists in the top 8! If we win our wedding will be on TV and I will get to be proudly Chinese for the whole of South Africa to see! Part of my wedding will be a traditional Chinese Tea Ceremony. Please vote for us! SMS “Samantha Jack” or “Stefan Zermatten” to 36996 (R5/SMS). You can vote as many times as you like and the SMS voting line closes on the 25th of May 2019. My fiance and I are high school sweethearts and we have been together for 10 years. This competition will finally help us to have a wedding! In addition I hope this can be an opportunity for South Africans to learn a little bit more about Chinese wedding culture as I am the only Chinese finalist in the competition.

Want to contact Samantha?

  • The best way to contact me if you are interested in me doing health-related research and biostatistical data analysis for you is through my email samanthaj@nioh.ac.za.

  • For endoki products I am mainly focused on bulk importing and selling to distributors. However since I am doing this as a part-time start up I am still raising funds and building the business plan. Reach me at samantha@endoki.co.za.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page