top of page

Meet Mellisa Fan

Mellisa Fan is from Johannesburg and is a part-time artist currently doing volunteer work to gain more experience before pursuing her masters in psychology.

Read more about why Mellisa is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"I know that in this day and age, it is often hard to consolidate the culture around us with traditional Chinese culture, but it is possible to find a balance. Our culture, like any other culture, is not perfect. But if we are to make any changes it should be because we deem it useful, and not because of pressure from others. I hope that the Chinese youth can learn to look past the negative image imposed onto our culture by others, and see much to be proud of. In an ever changing and scary world – our culture can be our anchor." ~ Mellisa Fan

 

Name: Mellisa Fan

Occupation: Part-time artist

1. Where were you born?

  • Johannesburg

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • Marian College

  • Monash South Africa

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • Finding my first Chinese friend who could relate to me. The one time we built guns out of legos and pretended we were secret agents.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • How to even begin to choose? Chang fen/cheung fan, roast pork and roast duck are some of my favourites.

5. Where do you live?

  • Johannesburg.

6. What work do you do?

  • I’m a part-time artist and am also currently doing some volunteer work to gain more experience before pursuing my masters in psychology.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • What I love about art is that it’s a form of expression, an escape, as well as an outlet. It also has the ability to break boundaries, and is almost universal. I feel that everyone can benefit with art in their lives and I aim to heal both myself and others through my art. I hope that in sharing my journey and reality, others can too, derive meaning from and take comfort in my art.

  • What I love about volunteering is being able to make a difference in others’ lives and contribute to making this country a better place. Given South Africa’s history and background, there is an endless amount of pain and suffering that needs alleviation. I hope I can get to a place where I can really connect with others, show them warmth, and offer guidance.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • Receiving my honours in psychology.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • It is a really beautiful country – its scenery, its animals, and its people. There is so much rich culture and diversity. Even though this diversity isn’t always appreciated, but it’s such an amazing experience when it is. There is also much opportunity and space for innovation in South Africa.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • China has thousands of years of history and is the only ancient civilization that is still standing. There is so much rich culture and wisdom to be found. I love our traditional values of modesty, caring for family and duty to society. Traditional Chinese views has allowed me to see that we are all interconnected in this world – when we poison others, we poison ourselves. This is because humans at their core, will always value and require human connection. There is no real boundary between you and I. My Chinese culture has always been my anchor whenever I’ve felt lost, angry or bitter. Its philosophies have taught me to see the bigger picture and strive to live for something greater than myself.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Celebrating Chinese New Year because it has become a celebration of our culture and heritage. It is a time where we can put down our differences and enjoy the festivities, as well as honour our roots. People from other cultures can come join and celebrate with us and learn more about our culture too.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • I know that in this day and age, it is often hard to consolidate the culture around us with traditional Chinese culture, but it is possible to find a balance. Our culture, like any other culture, is not perfect. But if we are to make any changes it should be because we deem it useful, and not because of pressure from others. I hope that the Chinese youth can learn to look past the negative image imposed onto our culture by others, and see much to be proud of. In an ever changing and scary world – our culture can be our anchor.

Disregard the haters, chin up, and keep doing your thing!

13. Is there anything else that you would like to share?

  • We are all Chinese, regardless of ethnicity or background. The more we help one another, the more there will be enough for all of us.

Want to contact Melissa?

If you would like to request an art commission you can contact me on the following platforms:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page