top of page

Meet Tayla Foong

Tayla Foong is a Marketing and Social Media Manager originally from Port Elizabeth now living in Joburg.

Read more about why Tayla is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"I just love being South African. I love how diverse our country is, the people, the food, the languages. We have our own way of thinking, and our own narrative which is catching on with the rest of the world. South African is being put on the map for developing a truly South African aesthetic whether it is in design, food, art or music. Our differences are what make us truly unique." ~ Tayla Foong

 

Name: Tayla Foong

Occupation: Marketing and Social Media Manager

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born on 12 July 1993 in the friendly city of Port Elizabeth

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I went to St Dominic’s Priory Primary and High School from Grades 1 to 12. Thereafter I studied at Nelson Mandela University. I studied a BA in Media, Communications and Culture, and after that did my honors in Corporate Communication finishing in 2016.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • My fondest memory would have to be the SACSA Easter Tournament. Growing up in a very diverse community and school, I didn’t really get to interact with my own race, but when Easter time came around it was all about celebrating the Chinese culture and meeting up with your old Chinese friends who you only saw once a year. As I played basketball with my family since the age of 6 years old, it was always part of my yearly calendar and it was a time of year I always looked forward to and still do today!

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • My favourite Chinese dish has to be my Por-Por’s Mapo Tofu with steamed Jasmine Rice. I also am a sucker for Bao Burgers (although these aren’t really all that traditional).

5. Where do you live?

  • I live in Johannesburg. (I just moved here in November 2018)

6. What work do you do?

  • I work as a Marketing and Social Media Manager for a company called Dokter and Misses (dokterandmisses.com). This is my 8-5. On the side though, I blog about places I eat out at and also organize a few events such as Baakens Food Truck Funday, 2 for 1 Tuesday (in PE) and I’m putting together my first event in Johannesburg in May 2019 called No Rules Cafeteria, which is a pop-up dining experience held at No End Contemporary Gallery in Linden, Randburg.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I love that my job is unconventional. I don’t do the normal tasks a marketing manager would do. I do everything and also get to work in a very informal environment which encourages creativity and collaboration. My company makes really cool furniture. My days are never the same – I get to dabble in graphic design, photography, social media planning, marketing strategies, event planning and even get to help out at the workshop painting furniture with custom patterns.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • My proudest achievement for 2019 is being in the pages of the 2019 Eat Out Magazine as a contributor and on the review panel, reviewing restaurants in the Eastern Cape.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I just love being South African. I love how diverse our country is, the people, the food, the languages. We have our own way of thinking, and our own narrative which the rest of the world are starting to acknowledge. We are being put on the map for developing a truly South African aesthetic whether it is in design, food, art or music. Our differences are what make us truly unique.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • What I admire about the Chinese community is their hard working ethic, entrepreneurship and above all integrity.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Giving out red packets for every kind of celebration (those are the best!)

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Embrace your culture and the values which your forefathers have instilled in you. Attend Chinese functions which celebrate your heritage, like Chinese New Year in Commissioner Street (if your in Joburg), and also attend the SACSA Easter Tournament, as I believe this is the one time of year where we all come together from all corners of the Country to celebrate and preserve our heritage.

13. Is there anything else that you would like to share?

  • If you are interested in what I’m doing in terms of design, media and events, and also if you’d like to catch up for a coffee or collaborate on something please do contact me – I’d love to hear from you and also hear a bit about what you are up to.

14. Is there someone you look up to in the South African Chinese Community?

  • I look up to Daniel Ting Chong who is a really talented designer, he has worked with brands I can only dream about, his work is also really great and he’s someone I have admired since I was a student!

Want to contact Tayla?

You can follow Tayla on Instagram (@taylafoong), alternatively contact her via email: taylamfoong@gmail.com

Baakens Food Truck Funday - Watch video below

Profile picture credit: Lonwabo Nkonki

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page