top of page

Meet Jason Chan

Jason Chan is from Port Elizabeth and is a talented third year Graphic Design student at Nelson Mandela University. Jason recently was named the South Africa National Winner for Gold Pack 2018. Congratulations Jason!

Read more about why Jason is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"Practice what you are good at, but please practice with the intent to improve." ~ Jason Chan

 

Name: Jason Chan

Occupation: Graph Designer

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born in Port Elizabeth

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I went to St Dominic’s Priory High school and now I am currently studying third year Graphic Design at Nelson Mandela University.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • Going to restaurants in the morning to have dim sum with my family back when I was in China

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • I am not a picky eater, I love to any food that is Chinese, but if I had to choose, it would obviously be my mom’s cooking

5. Where do you live?

  • I live in a small but friendly town called Port Elizabeth

6. What work do you do?

  • I have a strong passion for 3D characters, Design is something that has always been a part of my life.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I am still a student. However, during the holidays I worked for Tencent, It was a great experience working with them to design an animation character

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • Becoming the South African National Winner for Gold Pack 2018 which took place recently. My second proudest achievement would be my latest 3D character “ BURN!!!” It got be noticed by big major companies, such as Tencent and Triggerfish.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I am proud to be South African because of the diverse cultures that the country has and the opportunities for us to learn each other to creating new ideas for the future

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I am proud of being Chinese because we have amazing food and rich history that boosts our identity

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Respecting your elders and lecturers, they come first

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Practice what you are good at, but please practice with the intent to improve.

Want to contact Jason?

I have an Instagram page and a facebook page, but I recommend Artstation, Just search the name Ninjason Chan and you will see my portfolio. (My real name ”Jason Chan” has been taken on that website)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page