top of page

Meet Andrew Fok

Andrew Fok is an investment banker from Johannesburg. He started playing bagpipes from grade 8 as it was offered as an extra mural activity at King Edward VII School. Andrew currently plays with the oldest pipe band in South Africa the Transvaal Scottish Pipes and Drums and has been a member of the band for 12 years. Andrew has had the privilege to perform with the band at the Basel Tattoo in Switzerland and the World Pipe Band Championship in Glasgow, Scotland.

Read more about why Andrew is proud to be Chinese and a South African.

"Be bold. Go out there and get it. Learn to embrace your heritage without limiting yourself. Learn to develop your brand. Travel and understand the world.You never stop learning. " ~ Andrew Fok

 

Name: Andrew Fok

Occupation: Investment Banker

1. Where were you born?

  • Johannesburg, South Africa

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I had the privilege to attend King Edward VII School and then I obtained my Bachelors of Accounting Science from University of Witwatersrand. Subsequently I did my articles at EY and qualified as a Chartered Accountant.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • I was fortunately enough to spend 4 years in Hong Kong from the age of 6 to 10 and then I returned to South Africa. Those 4 years were a phenomenal experience and I learned what the Chinese culture and values are. It was also great to know my family and learn to speak fluent Cantonese.

After returning to South Africa, it took a little bit of time to integrate back into the Western society culture. However, through playing bagpipes from grade 8, I have made lifelong friendships with many people and it has shaped me into who I am today.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • Too many to choose from, but if I have to choose it will be Siu Mai, Cheung Fun and Yeung Chow Fried Rice.

5. Where do you live?

  • Johannesburg

6. What work do you do?

  • I am currently a Senior Associate in the Structured Products team at Nedbank Corporate and Investment Bank.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I love interacting with clients and different stakeholders. Our team mandate is to create and structure innovative solutions for our investment banking clients and therefore we always get to brainstorm new ideas and it is never the same each day. It is a great feeling once the solution is executed and you are always thinking whats next.

Finally, the best part is that I work with a great team and they make getting up every morning a little bit easier.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • I would say through hard work, tenacity and dedication, I have had the privilege to travel and see the world. Ultimately though, I am most proud of who I am as a person today and what I stand for.

9. Why are you proud to be South African? Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I think I need to answer the two questions together. Being a South African means you embrace and get to experience diversity and culture which many other nations are not privileged enough to experience. South Africa shows what it means to be a rainbow nation. Given that I am a South African born Chinese, I get to do and defy many cultural norms and fully embrace and understand other cultures and values.

  • As many of my friends say, it is not every day that you get to meet a Chinese person from South Africa that can pull off wearing a kilt and play bagpipes and know how to be a braai master.

10. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Celebrate the Chinese holidays and get the understanding of the history behind it.

11. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Be bold. Go out there and get it. Learn to embrace your heritage without limiting yourself.Learn to develop your brand. Travel and understand the world.You never stop learning.

12. Is there anything else that you’d like to share with the Chinese community?

  • Keep doing all these initiatives to promote the community. We must help build each other within the community and be proud of who we are and our heritag

Want to contact Andrew?

People can contact me via email at andrewfo@nedbank.co.za

A Celtic experience not to miss! Affinity, Spirit of Scotland - Don't miss Andrew playing at Gold Reef City on 20 & 21 April 2018! Click here to buy tickets.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page