top of page

Meet Taryn Lock

Taryn Lock was born and raised in Johannesburg. She is the Co-Founder and Executive Director of literacy non-profit organisation Read to Rise. Taryn is the founder of Proudly Chinese SA, runs a publishing company, is a fine arts photographer and a children's book illustrator.

"We need to celebrate and promote achievements by those in the community. Let's share our wonderful culture and traditions with other South Africans - the more people learn about each other's cultures the easier we can all respect each other and live in harmony. " ~ Taryn Lock

In 2014, Taryn was named one of the Mail & Guardian's Top 200 Young South Africans for her contributions to civil society through Read to Rise. Click here to read more.

In 2015, Cape Town Magazine named Taryn one of six 'Fearless Females in Cape Town'. Click here to read.

Read more about why Taryn is proud to be Chinese and proud to be South African.

 

Name: Taryn Lock

Occupation: Co-Founder and Executive Director of Read to Rise, Founder of Proudy Chinese SA, Children's Book Illustrator, Photographer

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born and raised in Johannesburg

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I went to Sir John Adamson High School in the south of JHB. I did a BSc (majoring in Mathematics and Computer Science) and BScHons (Mathematics) at Wit University

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • I enjoyed family get togethers over Christmas and New Year at my Grandparents' home in Port Elizabeth. We always feasted on Christmas and New Year. On New Year's Eve my Grandmother used to make rice congee soup (jook) and fried drumsticks and we all received red packets. My Grandmother was a wonderful cook, I have fond memories of her cooking in the kitchen, she used to make delicious Chinese foods from scratch such as bowties, fishballs, sticky rice leaves, dimsum, wonton, etc.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • There is so many delicious Chinese foods. My favourites include dimsum, bao, sweet and sour, wonton, crispy beef, su kai, sticky rice leaves, tofu, springrolls and my Mom's chow mein and crispy pork.

5. Where do you live?

  • I live in Cape Town, however my husband is currently studying at Oxford University so we have been living in Oxford for the last 2 years but visit SA often. So am very lucky to be able to live in two beautiful cities.

6. What work do you do?

  • I have worked in business for many years as a Strategy Analyst. I took a year sabbatical during 2012/2013 as my husband was studying at Harvard University. During that time I tutored English to Chinese immigrants in Boston. That experience ignited my passion for literacy and desire to want to help children in under-resourced communities. I decided to quit my corporate job and follow my passion. In September 2013, I co-founded a literacy NGO called Read to Rise (www.readtorise.org) and am currently the Executive Director. We visit primary schools in under-resourced communities to inspire children to read and give them access to new story books.

  • I run a publishing company called Theart Press. I illustrate children's books, I am the illustrator of the Oaky Series of inspirational children's books. I am also a fine arts photographer.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I enjoy the challenge of creating and building an organisation that is having a meaningful impact in society. It is incredibly rewarding seeing how happy children are to get a new book and especially since I illustrated it.

  • I love being creative and learning new skills. I taught myself how to illustrate, take photographs and publish books. Through my illustrations I can help writers tell their stories more powerfully. Through my photography I hope to capture simple everyday things in a different and thought-provoking way. Through publishing books, I want to get writers to share their stories and poetry to inspire others.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • I am very proud of the NGO Read to Rise that I co-founded and run. To date, we have conducted our progammes in over 1800 classes at 95 primary schools in CT, JHB and Limpopo. We have given out over 90,000 new story books. We have 10 wonderful staff. Running a non-profit organisation is not easy, I've had to learn a lot over the last 4 years. Hearing the positive feedback from learners, teachers, principals and parents only inspires me to want to get our programme to more children in SA.

  • I am very proud to illustrate the Oaky Series of inspirational children's books, written by award-winning poet Athol Williams. It is really overwhelming to see the children with the books and loving the pictures. Read to Rise has given out over 74,000 Oaky books. It's incredibly rewarding seeing children love my illustrations and draw the characters.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I have travelled to and lived in many cities around the world, South Africa will always be home to me. We have a beautiful country with so much potential. The people are so diverse and amazing. Our delicious foods are hard to beat. Wherever I go I am always Proudly South African.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I am a third generation South African Chinese and I am proud to be Chinese. We are humble, hard-working, respect our elders and believe strongly in family and education. Our culture is colourful and rich with history, traditions and delicious foods.

  • I started the Proudly Chinese SA initiative because I believe that we should be proud of where we are from. We need to celebrate and promote achievements by those in the community. There are so many amazing Chinese individuals, organisations and businesses in South Africa, we are a great people, so let's be proud and share that. Let's share our wonderful culture and traditions with other South Africans - the more people learn about each other's cultures the easier we can all respect each other and live in harmony.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • Gatherings like Chinese New Year and the annual Easter Tournaments are important to keep the community connected and traditions passed along.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • You decide your destiny. Be true to yourself. Don't be afraid to follow your passions and be the best that you can be, strive towards your dreams. Live a conscious and meaningful life - leave your legacy. Find happiness through your passions and the people that mean the most to you.

  • Don't forget where you are from - be proud to be South African and be proud to be Chinese. We need to stand up for our rights and also support each other. Don't forget the importance of family and helping those less fortunate than yourself.

Want to contact Taryn?

Find out more about Read to Rise, click here.

Find out more about Proudly Chinese SA, click here.

Find out more about Theart Press, click here.

Find out more about Taryn's photography and illustrations click here.

Connect with Taryn on Instragram @tarynlock or Twitter @tarynlock

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page