top of page

Meet Alice Chan

Photo credit: BBC SA

Alice Chan is an Associate Professor at the University of Pretoria in the field of technology and innovation management. Alice is currently a contestant on The Great South African Bake Off and is the first baker in the show to be awarded with three Star Bakers awards in the history of the show.

"Have an open mind and do not be afraid to show what you are capable of in terms of contributing to the society in South Africa. Always believe in yourself even if you face difficult time and especially if others are judging you negatively." ~ Alice Chan

Read more about why Alice is proud to be Chinese and proud to be South African.

 

Name: Kai-Ying (Alice) Chan

Occupation: Associate Professor, Graduate School of Technology Management, University of Pretoria

1. Where were you born?

  • Taiwan, ROC.

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • High school: Pretoria High School for Girls

  • University: University of Pretoria

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • My fondest memory when I was a child in Taiwan is growing up with delicious traditional Taiwanese food that my grandmother prepared. I often watched her when she was cooking.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • Steamed buns with veggies inside.

5. Where do you live?

  • Pretoria

6. What work do you do?

  • Currently I am an Associate Professor in the field of technology and innovation management. So I teach Master’s classes, supervise post graduate research (Honours, Masters and PhDs) as well as conducting research of my own.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I have a passion of teaching and research. I think sharing knowledge and helping to build other people’s mind and capabilities is my contribution to the society. With my current job I also have the opportunity to travel around the world to international conferences for my research presentations.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • There are two proudest achievements, one academic and one is my own passion:

  • The academic achievement is being not only the youngest (before the age of 40) but also the one of few female associate professor in the faculty. My other achievement is my passion of baking. In 2017 I became the first baker in the show The Great South African Bake Off who is awarded with three Star Bakers awards in the history of the show. More info click here.

  • I felt so honoured that I could represent Pretoria and showcase my baking designs which are inspired from both South African and Chinese culture.

Photo credit: BBC SA

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I have been living in South Africa since the age of 12, this beautiful country has become my home because I appreciate its diverse culture. I am a proudly South African Taiwanese and will continue to represent South Africa when I travel to overseas international conferences.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • The Taiwanese and Chinese culture that I grew up with have shaped many good virtues within myself, such as being humble, show appreciation and be hardworking.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • The tradition of respecting and spending time with your parents. The family value is very important in the Chinese culture that the future generations shouldn’t forget.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Have an open mind and do not be afraid to show what you are capable of in terms of contributing to the society in South Africa. Always believe in yourself even if you face difficult time and especially if others are judging you negatively.

13. Is there anything that you would like to share with the community?

  • I am Buddhist so I am also a proud devotee and volunteer at the Nan Hua Temple, Bronkhorstspruit. Buddhism is not just a religion, it’s more like a philosophy. Chinese Buddhism not only integrates both the Chinese culture but also the Buddhists philosophy. I would like to invite the Chinese community to visit and support Nan Hua Temple in Bronkhorstspruit which not only promotes Buddhism but most importantly the Chinese culture.

Want to contact Alice?

Find Alice on Facebook here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page