top of page

Meet Kirsten Ho

Kirsten Ho is a photographer from Johannesburg.whose work has been published internationally. She also has her South African colours for Karate and Muay Thai.

"Be proud of who you are and where you came from. Strive to leave your legacy behind. Prove the nay-sayers wrong with your results. Always stay humble. Always be genuine." ~ Kirsten Ho

Read more about why Kirsten is proud to be Chinese and proud to be South African.

 

Name: Kirsten Ho

Occupation: Photographer

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born in Johannesburg, South Africa

2. What school/college/university did you attend?

  • I matriculated from St.Mary’s, Girl’s School Waverly. I graduated from AAA school of Advertising with a BA in Visual Communications majoring in Art Direction and I studied Photography at Vega.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • My fondest memories growing up as a Chinese child was playing basketball for the SACSA Easter Tournament and for the Tigers basketball club. I made incredible life-long friendships and memories. Basketball also, influenced my love for sport and helped me to excel in many other sport disciplines.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • I love steamed fish and bringal hot pot but, most of all I loved my late grandmother (Phylis Ho’s) cooking.

5. Where do you live?

  • I reside in Meyersdal, Johannesburg.

6. What work do you do?

  • I am a professional lifestyle, commercial, editorial and portrait photographer.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • There are so many aspects of my job that, I love. Firstly, being in the creative sphere and creating beauty is something that truly ignites passion in my soul. Secondly, I love meeting people from all diverse backgrounds, lifestyles and industries… being part of their journey and story truly inspires me. My absolute, favourite thing about photography is that it transcends all language barriers. I also thoroughly enjoy the business aspect behind my job… entrepreneurship is a challenging and fun adventure. I feel like, I am constantly learning something about our society, people and myself.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • My proudest acheivement would be becoming a young female entrepreneur. Seeing my work published in international magazines, books and television is always a great feeling and achievement. Working with well-known public figures and successful, large enterprises like the JSE, Banking & Credit Ombud etc. is a great notch on the belt too.

In my personal capacity achieving my South African colours for Karate and Muay Thai have been proud acheivements.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I feel proud to be a South African because, we are such a diverse nation with vast, rich cultures. South Africa and it’s people are a kaleidoscope of eclectic and inspiring beauty.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I am proud of our strong heritage, traditions and food. Most of all I feel that, Chinese people have a strong sense of community and family.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • I would love to see the SACSA Easter Tournament continue… I feel that, it enriched my childhood and that, it helps keep the Chinese community together throughout the country.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Be proud of who you are and where you came from. Strive to leave your legacy behind. Prove the nay-sayers wrong with your results. Always stay humble. Always be genuine.

13. Is there anything else that you'd like to share with the Chinese community?

  • The one special thing about being a minority group is our sense of community and always know that there is someone experiencing similar things to you. This blog provides a great platform for us to continually share our stories.

Want to contact Kirsten?

Check out Kirsten's website www.khphotography.co.za or email info@khphotography.co.za

Aternatively, find Kirsten on social media:Instagram @kirstenho_photography,

Facebook Kirsten Ho Photography, Twitter KirstenHo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page