top of page

Meet Lee Jardine


Lee Jardine is a Martial Artist and Fine Arts student from Johannesburg.

Read about why Lee is proud to be Chinese and proud to be South African.

-----------------------------------

Name: Lee Jardine

Occupation: Martial Artist

1. Where were you born?

  • Johannesburg Gauteng

2. What schools/colleges/universities did you go to?

  • I went to Jeppe High School for Boys and have currently returned to Wits University to do a BA in Fine Arts.

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • As a South African Chinese child, my fondest memories were the numerous family trips to the Kruger National Park.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • I love a really good beef flank rice dish.

5. Where do you live?

  • Bruma, Johannesburg

6. What work do you do?

  • I'm am full time martial arts instructor teaching Ryu Kyu Kobujutsu (Traditional Okinawan Weapon Arts), Yuishinkai Karate and Tai Chi.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • My job allows me to stay physically fit and healthy. I love to teach and share knowledge that I have but I also love to learn from my students who also have so much to offer.

8. What is your proudest achievement?

  • I can only think of the latest one at the moment and that being my artwork which made the final round of judging in the Sasol New Signatures competition.

9. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • We have the most beautiful country in the world, it's hard not have pride in that.

10. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • Despite all the adversities during and after apartheid, we have been resilient. I think that is something to be incredibly proud of as South African Chinese.

11. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • The traditional family outings to take flowers and pay respects your past loved ones.

12. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • My good friend Markos used to have a catch phrase "Fear nothing! Regret less!" Living by this the last few years has totally changed my life and all for the better. But I would also like to add something which speaks from my latest artwork, "Be mindful. In the things you say and the things you do."

Want to contact Lee?

Check out his awesome facebook page about Martial Arts and Arts called "The Martial ARTist"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page