top of page

Meet Gareth Pon


Gareth Pon is a filmmaker and photographer, who born in JHB and recently moved to the USA to work for HAVAS in Chicago. With over 280k followers on Instagram, Gareth is Africa's Top Instagrammer for the last 3 years in a row. He believes that everyone should have one ridiculous dream - he dreams of going to space one day! We caught up with Gareth to hear what he does, what some of his Chinese favourites are and why he is proud to be South African and Chinese.

-----------------------------------------------

Name: Gareth Pon

Occupation: Senior Content Creator at HAVAS Chicago / Freelancing Film / Photography

1. Where were you born?

  • I was born in Benoni, South Africa.

2. What schools/colleges/universities did you go to?

  • I went to King’s School Linbro Park for High School

  • LISOF for Fashion Design

  • The Open Window for a BA in Visual Communication

3. What is your fondest childhood memory, growing up as a Chinese child?

  • My dad being an architect used to take me to his construction sites, I’d have the privilege of rollerblading on freshly laid concrete before any of the building started.

4. What is your favourite Chinese food?

  • Beef Hot Pot! So good!

5. Where do you live?

  • Currently living in Chicago, Illinois.

6. What work do you do?

  • I work for HAVAS Chicago, I work alongside the creative teams to direct/create/concept/produce/shoot/edit/etc. I also create photos and films for various freelance clients.

7. What do you love about your job?

  • I love being able to have an idea in my mind and a couple of days seeing it come to life. I’m surrounded by so many amazing creatives and it’s amazing to be able to work together with them to create work that is really compelling!

8. What is your proudest achievement?

9. How can people view your work?

  • Instagram account @garethpon

10. Why are you proud to be South African?

  • I love that South Africa is so diverse, it’s an untapped Southern country that really has the best things in the world. Even though I live in Chicago for now, I miss the little details in South Africa that make me proud to be South African. I love the heart that South Africans have, the really good food! The welcoming attitude and the joy that comes with living in one of the most beautiful places in the world..

11. Why are you proud to be Chinese?

  • I used to joke with my friends growing up that I always win by default because I am Chinese. Ha! People joke, but I think we’re pretty darn smart.

12. Name one Chinese tradition that you’d like future generations to continue with?

  • I grew up in between Mauritian and Chinese culture in South Africa. One thing I’ve always loved though is the festivities around Chinese new year, it always brings families together and I love that.

13. What advice would you give to the Chinese youth today in South Africa?

  • Don’t be scared of making mistakes. Find what you love and let it change you so you can change those around you.

Follow Gareth on Instagram and Twitter @garethpon or visit his website http://www.garethpon.com/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page