top of page

Proudly Chinese SA is born

I am proudly South African. I am proudly Chinese.

As a third generation South African Chinese living in South Africa, I want to celebrate Chinese culture in South Africa, promote the amazing things that Chinese individuals/groups/businesses are doing in South Africa and recognise those South African Chinese doing great things around the world.

My Vision for Proudly Chinese SA....

I hope to empower Chinese in South Africa by creating a platform to promote Chinese individuals/groups/businesses.

I was deeply saddened by the recent hate speech against Chinese. I want to get rid of any negative perceptions of Chinese.

If you'd to join me on my quest, please email proudlychinesesa@gmail.com.

About Me....

I was born and raised in Johannesburg. I have a BScHons in Mathematics from Wits University. I worked in business for many years. I was a Management Consultant for a business consulting firm and a Strategy Analyst at Old Mutual.

In June 2012, I took a year sabbatical as my husband was studying at Harvard University. During that year, I volunteered to tutor English to Chinese immigrants in Boston. This was a life-changing experience for me. I discovered my passion for literacy and helping others, I quit my corporate job to follow my passion. I co-founded READ to RISE in September 2013, with my husband. READ to RISE is a literacy non-profit organisation that promotes youth literacy in under-resourced communities in South Africa. We hope to inspire children to read and give them access to new story books. To date, we have conducted programmes in over 1,000 classes and given out over 62,000 new books. Read more: www.readtorise.org .

I am the Executive Director of READ to RISE. I was named one of Mail & Guardian's Top 200 Young South Africans in 2014. Click here to read.

I am also a children's book illustrator, fine arts photographer and I run a local publishing company Theart Press.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page